Rep. Kelly Announces Nominees to U.S. Military Academies

Jan 11, 2018 Issues: Education
Rep. Kelly Announces Nominees  to U.S. Military Academies
WASHINGTON — U.S. Representative Mike Kelly (PA-03) today announced the names of the young men and women he has nominated to the prestigious United States Service Academies for the graduating Class of 2022. All nominations were awarded on a competitive basis and based on the recommendations of an independent Service Academy Advisory Board, comprised of local academy alumni, active duty military personnel, and distinguished veterans.
Statement by Rep. Kelly:
“It is truly rewarding to see the number of selfless young men and women who wish to pursue a career of service to their country, and I am very proud of the quality of candidates that I am privileged to nominate. These 21 individuals have demonstrated tremendous leadership in their communities and schools and I am confident they possess the qualities to excel at the highest level. I congratulate each of our nominees and fully believe they will represent our district and all of Pennsylvania with the utmost integrity.”
The following candidates have been nominated to at least one of the United States Service Academies:
Brandon Beader, Hickory High School
Ceara Berry, United States Air Force Academy Preparatory School
Brett Brady, Butler Senior High School
Xavier Coburn, Reynolds Jr-Sr High School
Corey Eisert-Wlodarczyk, McDowell High School
Morgan Grimm, Kennedy Catholic High School
Madeline Lauther, Mercersburg Academy
Lucas Madonna, Cardinal Wuerl North Catholic High School
Keegan McCann, Commodore Perry High School
William McGuire, Grove City College
Alicia McLaughlin, Shady Side Academy
Benjamin Meure, Meadville Area Senior High School
Brendan Moyer, Mars Area High School
Charles Nesbit, Grove City Area High School
Christian Pierotti, Allegheny-Clarion Valley Jr-Sr High School
Samuel Purchase, Cathedral Preparatory School
Michael Renaud, Penn State University
Drew Slezak, Hickory High School
Zachary Steiner, Armstrong Jr-Sr High School
Valentina Vincent, New Mexico Military Institute
Maya Wirtz, Knoch High School
NOTE: Rep. Kelly will honor all nominees during a celebratory ceremony in the spring of 2018. If you are interested in seeking a congressional nomination in the future and/or would like more information regarding the application process, please visit Rep. Kelly’s official website or contact his Academy Coordinator, Stephanie Stevenson, at